Bits and pieces

Standard

Ok, here is a collection of other projects that have been going on in my life that haven’t made it on here yet. Firstly, the granny square slippers I mentioned here. I was quite happy with how the first one turned out – until I tried to put it on my foot. It’s too small. So, at some point, I’ll make one that actually fits. And perhaps add a strap to help keep it in place. But in the meantime, here is my first attempt…

 

I know I said I’d put up pics when I got the size right, but this one is kinda cute, and since I had a pic it seemed right to give it a moment of glory. Besides, who knows how long it might take me to get round to making a pair the right size?!

Another crochet experiment started with a few circles, and ended up being a cute scarf:

This was another project inspired by Attic24. I’m sure you’ll agree that the circle scarf is a beautiful thing to behold, and as soon as I saw it I wanted to have a go. There was no tutorial, so thought I’d just play around until I managed to make an acceptable circle. And they ended up being super simple, and very quick to make (my favourite kind of project!) The finished scarf now belongs to the friend who pushed me towards crochet again, as a sign of my gratitude.

Another experiment was this flower, and I’m so happy with how it turned out!

I’ve seen similar flowers in a few places whilst googling away, but couldn’t seem to find a pattern or tutorial. So again, played around until I came up with something I was happy with – and I just love this! The only problems are that a. I want to make a whole load more, and b. I have no idea what I’d do with a great stack of them! Any suggestions welcome 🙂

And finally, I know this is supposed to be a blog keeping track of the things I’ve made this year, but I just had to share this with you. I had a creative Christmas, and made the majority of my gifts. This is what I made my cousin:

I just love spotty fabrics, and loved the colours of these together. I’ve made similar notebook covers as gifts before, but didn’t take pictures. Which meant that when I came to make this one I couldn’t remember how I done it before – so frustrating! So this time I figured that if I at least took pictures it would make it easier to make again in the future.

Please excuse the ironing board – if I’d known at the time I would be showing these pictures to other people I’d have found a prettier place to photograph it!

Ahh, so pretty.

Leave a Reply

