Works in progress

Standard

A few days ago I began another project that was inspired by Attic24. Lucy made a beautiful crochet bag, full of bright colours and lovely stripes, and very kindly wrote a tutorial showing how to make it. I thought I’d give it a go in order to use up some of my odds and ends of wool, and when it’s finished it’ll hold what’s left. Unfortunately I’ve got carried away and ended up buying more wool – oh dear!

The base came together very quickly, although it ended up slightly wobbly the bigger it got (but it’s not polite to dwell on big, wobbly bottoms). I also realised that even though I was following the pattern by working in treble stitches there were more holes than I wanted. So when I got to the sides I started to work in half trebles instead. I’m really pleased with how it looks, but as half trebles are smaller than trebles, it’s going to take longer to make.  Never mind.

Anyway, this is how it looked yesterday:

And today:

It’s growing! But it’s still got a long way to go if it’s going to be big enough to hold my entire stock of wool.

And look at the lovely stripiness of it. As I was looking at the latest stripes I suddenly started thinking of ice cream! They seem to me to be very ice creamy colours, and remind me of ice cream bowls…

So I thought “What would be better than an ice cream bag?” And the answer was “Not much!”

Which got me started on another project. It hasn’t gone far yet, but loook at the lovely colours!

More pictures will follow (hopefully of finished articles, but you may have to wait a while – it depends how many other bright ideas I have along the way!)

 

Quick update: The ice cream bag has turned out really well so far! It still needs some handles, but apart from that is nearly there – so exciting! Hopefully pictures tomorrow…

One response »

  1. Pingback: A bag full of stripes « cuteasabutton82

Leave a Reply

