Lovely new things

Standard

This week I have  been inspired by the cold to make some lovely wrist warmers. I managed to find some bargain bamboo wool in my local craft shop a couple of weeks ago, and decided it would be perfect. But I also decided (probably foolishly) to make up my own pattern. So they’ve taken a lot longer to finish than I thought, and still need sewing up – so you’ll have to wait one more day before I show them to you!

In the meantime, I’ve been shopping! I went with a couple of friends to Craft 4 Crafters at Westpoint Arena in Exeter today, and we had so much fun! I’ve been there for several years now, and always get so excited about it (an enthusiasm not shared by many of my friends who think I probably need help).

There is always so much to see, and so much inspiration – I just love looking at all the quilts, and lace, and embroidery, and knitted items, and scrapbook pages, and… you get the idea. And it’s great fun hunting for the bargains too (and super frustrating when I find something for less than I paid 5 minutes earlier).

So here are my purchaces from today…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Just look at this beautiful wool! I almost found this stall by accident, and I was busily chatting to my friend, and looking for something else at the time. But I happened to look in the right direction at the right time, and there it was – a wall of stunning shades and textures – heaven! Even better was the fact that most of it was in a ’10 balls for £20′ offer, and the other 2 balls were in the bargain box – a bargain indeed! The 5 at the back are Patons Pompero, and are so wonderfully soft. They will be perfect for a snuggly pair of gloves, or a super cosy hat. And the Katia Eco Cotton are such beautiful colours – I have no idea what I’ll use them for yet, but I can’t wait to play with them 🙂

The rest of my purchases are equally exciting (to me at least, but possibly not to anyone else). 2 knitting magazines for £1 each – bargain. A bobbin box for £1.99 – bargain. A fat quarter of pretty fabric for £1 – bargain. 5 rolls of double sided tape for £3.50 (so not exciting for most people, but so necessary for many of the things I make!) – bargain. A pack of blades for my craft knife for £1 – bargain! Do you sense a theme here?

And last but not least, quite possibly my favourite buy of the day – buttons! I really don’t need more – I have several boxes and jars already full of buttons, but when I saw their beautiful colours all mixed together like that I just had to buy them! The pale, vintage style buttons are just gorgeous, and the bright ones will go so well with my new wool. I was powerless to resist!

Now all I need to do is conjure up some more storage space for it all and I’ll be ready to start creating.

2 responses »

  1. It’s so nice to find someone else who also loves buttons 😀 I stand and look and almost drool and look some more and pick up and open tubes and spill one or two out then move on to the next tube and pour out a few more and all the time thinking, I know I don’t need these, but oh boy I have to have them – hmmm – therapy needed maybe?…………nah! – buttons rock!!
    Loving the way you write ;0)

    • Aren’t they just lovely?! I don’t know what it is about buttons that makes people drool over them, but they’re just wonderful! It’s always nice to meet others who have the same addiction 🙂

Leave a Reply

