A Cardiffy Weekend

Standard

Mum and I have been treating ourselves again, and spent some time in Cardiff this weekend. We stayed with another cousin and his family and had a great time with them. I was especially excited to see his nearly 7 year old daughter doing her knitting! Such a look of concentration on her face, and so proud of her work.

Then last night we went to see Straight No Chaser and they were amazing! If you’ve never heard of them you’re not alone – most people have a very blank look when I mention them, but you need to listen to them (here is a good place to start. And here. And maybe here too.) Just brilliant! And so very funny too – it must be hard to act so goofy and sing amazingly at the same time, but they do it so well!

So after a great evening yesterday and a slightly damp walk to school this morning, we decided to take a detour to the Mall at Cribbs Causeway on the way home. I enjoyed browsing through the shops and flicking through books and magazines, but the things that really caught my attention were the balls of wool! John Lewis and Hobbycraft both have a selection of colours and textures that make me drool a little bit just looking at them. And of course I wasn’t content with just looking, and ended up coming home with 4 more to add to my ever growing collection.

This Norse wool is just beautifully soft and snuggly, and is destined to become a snood or scarf. I’m not sure yet whether to knit or crochet… it needs serious thought!

And this kid classic is just gorgeous – and was half price (I love a good bargain!) I can see this becoming gloves, or possibly a lacy, elegant scarf.

Last week, when I got back from the oh so exciting craft fair, I was so excited to get using some of my beautiful new wool. But so far I haven’t touched it! But there is a good reason for this, I assure you. I knitted a cushion cover for my Aunt and Uncle for Christmas, and they liked it so much they’ve asked for another one. This did throw me into a slight panic at first, as I made up the pattern and had it scribbled out on a piece of paper, which for all I knew could have been thrown away weeks ago! But, thanks to my compulsion to keep everything, I managed to find it screwed up in the bottom of my knitting bag. Hurrah for not throwing things away! So I’ve been busily knitting away and have nearly finised the first flap of the back (I’ll knit it all in one long piece – half of the back, the front and the other half of the back). And here it is so far, looking all lovely and snuggly and warm 🙂

One response »

  1. Pingback: Cable cushion « cuteasabutton82

Leave a Reply

