African flower scarf giveaway

Standard

After just a few more hours work the scarf is finished! It took me a while to decide on the order I wanted the flowers to be in, but had fun shuffling them all around on the floor.

I then worked a round of treble stitches (US doubles)ย around each flower in dark purple, joining them as I went along.

After they were all attached I worked two rows of double stitches (US singles) around the whole lot to strengthen them.

At this stage it was nearly finished, but was quite curly! A bit like a sandwich a few days old. It kinda looked ok, but not quite.

 

 

So then came the blocking process. I’ve not done this before, but it seemed to work quite well. I stretched the scarf out across a couple of towels, the pinned each point to hold it in place. I then spritzed it with a nice fine mist of water and left it to dry for 24 hours.

This afternoon I removed all the pins (which was a lot quicker than putting them allย in) and ta-dah! Had my properly finished scarf ๐Ÿ™‚

And here it is:

If you would like a chance to win this scarf, just post a comment on this post. I will draw a winner either on 12th March, or when I get 20 followers. So get commenting!

On another note, I was having a little browse at some lovely blogs yesterday, and came across Stocki, where I read about a truly great idea! Jill is making a Beautiful Blogger Blanket, made up from squares sent in by people from all around the world. (Click hereย and scroll to the bottom of the pageย if you want to be involved yourself, but be quick about it as the closing date is next week!) I couldn’t resist and whipped up a couple of Granny Squares to be part of it.

The one on the left is based on a pattern found here at Rose Hip – just lovely. And the one on the right is a plain old Granny Square, as taught to me by my very own Granny!

7 responses »

  1. Well done! ๐Ÿ˜€ What a lovely scarf and it’s very kind of you to make it a giveaway ๐Ÿ˜€
    I saw the blog blanket thingy a while ago but as I don’t have a blog I couldn’t take part – hey ho ๐Ÿ˜‰ Good luck to you for winning it though – that would be awesome for you ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I do like that square from Rose Hip I’m going to pop over for a lookie see.
    Best wishes to you
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • What a lovely place Rose Hip is ๐Ÿ˜€ I wonder how she gets the crochet started on her pillow slips etc It is very effective isn’t it ๐Ÿ˜‰ I did a towel topper or five (hehe) but to start that off it’s just a fairly rough chain stitch that ends up hidden, but Rose Hip’s work is in plain site and sooo much neater ๐Ÿ˜‰ I do love crochet ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Pingback: Excitement! « cuteasabutton82

Leave a Reply

