A finished slipper

Standard

I have just finished the first slipper from the pattern I mentioned in my last post. I was feeling very pleased with them – because they were worked on a big hook they grew really fast, and they were looking very much like in the pattern – fab! Yes, it was a little wonky, but that’s what makes things unique!

But then I tried it on. And it just didn’t feel right. I think I was expecting it to feel a little more like a pair of slipper socks I have, and it was nothing like it. Because of the big hook, and the fact that it was worked with a double thickness of aran wool they ended up feeling quite inflexible. And it was too baggy around my leg. It just was not right.

So, I’m now trying to decide what to do next. I was tempted to take it all apart and start again, but wondered if perhaps I should just try working it in a different way?

I think I’ll try working it in a single thickness of wool, and perhaps a size smaller too. I’m going away with  my church family this weekend, and hoping for lots of time for crochet and chatting! So maybe by Sunday afternoon I’ll have a pair of slippers I’m happy with. Or maybe I’ll have given up and started something new – who knows 🙂

4 responses »

  1. This does look rather super, and very comfy, so it’s a shame it’s looks belie the reality ;0)
    Have a great weekend and I hope you have more success second time around ;D

  2. Pingback: A Churchy Weekend « cuteasabutton82

  3. Pingback: A wet and windy day « cuteasabutton82

Leave a Reply

