A Churchy Weekend

Standard

I have spent this weekend with a wonderful group of people from church. We have had so much fun, some great teaching and fabulous weather. When we arrived it was really quite wintery – cold, grey and just a bit gloomy. But by the time we left today it’d done a complete turnaround. The sky was blue, the sun was shining, daffodils were blooming and it was even quite warm – spring is on it’s way!

Yesterday afternoon was a time for walking (for those who chose to) or relaxing in the sun. I chose the latter. I had my large, stripy crochet bag stuffed to the brim with wool and many plans for what to do. Unfortunately plans don’t always work out. For one thing, I had planned to have another go at those slipper boots which hadn’t turned out quite how I wanted. But halfway through my journey on Friday I realised I’d left the pattern at home.

But it was ok – there was another pattern I wanted to try out, I’d do that instead. However, that pattern was scribbled down on the back of the slipper boots pattern.

Never mind. I had a book with several patterns that I wanted to try out. I selected a hat pattern – it looked fairly simple which meant that I could chat away to Emma (who was sitting next to me crocheting the most adorable little baby boots) at the same time. So I merrily chained 90 stitches, then did a few rounds of doubles before thinking that perhaps I should check the size. It was too small.

By this time I was already feeling quite frustrated, so rather than figure out how to adapt the pattern I unravelled it all and started making a pair of gloves instead.

I was merrily working away when the walkers came back. Most of the families had been out, so in traipsed a stream of children, all chattering away about what they’d seen and done. Then little Mouse, the cutest 4 year old you can imagine, hopped up on to my lap asking “Can I help you?”

Of course, I couldn’t resist, so away went the glove and out came the pinkest wool we could find in my bag. We sat there happily chatting and chaining until I had to go elsewhere. The resulting chain was only about 5 or 6 stitches long and was rather uneven and wonky, but Mouse and I had a lot of fun making it 🙂

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: A wet and windy day « cuteasabutton82

Leave a Reply

