Yet another cushion (and a giveaway reminder)

Standard

For some reason I just love cushions. Even more, I love making cushion covers. I think because they can generally be finished pretty quickly (which doesn’t leave me much time to get distracted) and are a great way of trying out new skills with a relatively small amount of yarn or fabric. After the success of the Granny Square cushion (the pic to the right) I decided to make another one. This one is bigger, to fit an 18 inch cushion, and instead of crocheting both sides I wanted to try using a jumper as backing (as seen over at attic24).

So, I carefully cut off the buttons and added them to my colourful button jar. This picture doesn’t really show the true colour of the jumper very well – it’s a lot pinker than it looks here.

 

 

 

 

Then I cut along the seams of one arm and cut the front of the jumper off. (This is a bit closer to the actual colour.) I carefully measured out and cut each piece so that I would have overlapping flaps for the back.

So by this point in the day I was planning to sit down and show you wonderful pictures of the finished product.

No such luck.

Have you got any idea how hard it is to bind the edges of a curling jumper on a sewing machine?! All I wanted to do was a simple zig zag stitch all the way around so it wouldn’t fray and unravel where it’d been cut. But to start with it got jammed so I had to pull it a little, which stretched it, so it ended up wobbly. Then it just wouldn’t go straight no matter how hard I tried – so frustrating!

By now I have mangaed to zig zag around all the raw edges, wobbly though they are, but really wasn’t feeling the love so decided to leave it until tomorrow when I’ll hopefully be in a better frame of mind.

But while I’m here, let me remind you about the African Flower Scarf Giveaway! It’s only 8 days now until my blog is 2 months old (so exciting!) and to celebrate I’m giving away this scarf πŸ™‚ If you’d like a chance to win it, please leave a comment at the bottom of this post. On 12th March I’ll put all the names of those who have commented into a high tec hat and pick out a winner.

In the meantime, enjoy the last few relaxing hours of Sunday before another week begins!

 

6 responses »

  1. Your cushion is going to be so lovely and snuggly with that backing. Vibrant πŸ˜€ I can only imagine the front will be just as bright? πŸ˜€

  2. Hmmm… I have wanted to try that idea, but was thinking that it would probably curl if I used the machine.. I’ll be watching to see if you solve it…good luck! :)x

  3. Pingback: A wet and windy day « cuteasabutton82

Leave a Reply

