Distraction

Standard

What a gorgeous sunny day! Yes, I know some places had snow today and yes, I know it was crazily windy, but it just looked lovely. I got out in the garden this morning to take some pictures of the beautiful flowers coming out. I’m not a gardener, and I have no idea what most of these are called, but look how pretty!

As I was trying to get a shot of the primroses next door, their 3-legged cat Clive came to say hello too, trying to fit his face through the fence and sitting on the flowers!

I also found two half dead plants indoors (as I say, I’m really not a gardener!). I gave them a drink, pulled out all the dead leaves (which is why the pot on the right especially looks quite bare)  and put them out to enjoy the sun. They did seem to look a lot happier when I brought them back in this evening.

I was also full of plans for finishing my cushion. I planned to do all my jobs (exciting things like washing, planning, catching up on emails, etc.) as soon as possible so I could get on with it. But by the time I’d started pottering round I’d been well and truly distracted by the sun. Although it wasn’t all that warm it didn’t really feel like a day to be working with wool. It did, however, put me in the mood for bunting. Sun seems to do that. So I decided to make some mini bunting using some of the fabrics I got last week. As I was reaching for them I came across some other fabrics which would work well with them. These were things I bought in the January sales – they cost £1 each, but with most things in the sales I either didn’t really like them, or they didn’t have it in my size. But I loved some of the fabrics! And as they were so cheap I couldn’t resist.

These three featured in my bunting, alongside the lovely cherries, strawberries and flowers from last week.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This blue, boat fabric immediately shouted ‘beach bag’ at me, and although I have no idea what to do with the skirt it’s just so pretty I couldn’t just leave it there!

Anyway, back to the bunting. I cut smallish triangles (I think they were about 4 inches from top to bottom) with pinking shears, then cut 72 inches of cotton tape, ironed it in half and pinned each flag into place. After a brief encounter with the sewing machine the bunting was finished – simple! Photographing it, however, was not quite so simple. I felt it needed to be shown outdoors, but it was just so jolly windy that the flags danced all over the place. Normally this would be a good thing, but not when trying to take photos! Anyway, here is my first attempt:

But just as I was reaching for another couple of pegs to tame the fluttering, there was a sudden brief lull:

Lovely sunny bunting! But no finished cushion cover. Maybe tomorrow?

8 responses »

  1. Lovely! Why is bunting so cheerful? It always makes me feel happy to see it blowing in the wind… and it seems to be the same for a lot of people… funny isn’t it? :)x

  2. Hello Laura,
    I’m very happy I found you through Stocki’s blog…I love the squares You’ve sent her 🙂 Your blog and your creations are beautiful !
    Angie

Leave a Reply

