So close

Standard

I am nearly, nearly finished with the baby blanket. All the squares are stitched together and a border and edging has been added. And this is how it looks:

80 blocks of beautiful colour, all contrasting and complementing each other wonderfully. It makes me smile every time I look at it!

The border did cause me a few problems – no matter what I tried it always seemed to go all wavy and all over the place. It was very frustrating. But as a I was browsing through Bunny Mummy’s blog the other day I just happened to notice this tutorial on her side bar – how to make a flat border for granny square blankets – hurrah! And it worked a treat.

And then I just happened to notice another of her tutorials – Double V edging – a very simple but very pretty edge to just finish it all off. I think it just looks lovely.

But the more observant of you may have noticed that even though it looks quite beautiful here, there are one or two stray ends poking out here and there. And the sad fact is that actually there are rather a lot of stray ends. In fact, a whole blanket’s worth that need sewing in.

And of course rather than actually getting on with the sewing in process I have decided to start another blanket! Yet another tutorial I stumbled across on Bunny Mummy’s blog, for a mini hexagon. They are delightfully quick and easy to make and think they will make a fantastic blanket. So maybe I’ll just wait until I’ve finished this one and sew in all the ends at the same time.

Or maybe I’ll start yet another blanket and never sew in any of the ends. That option sounds much more likely.

9 responses »

  1. Pingback: Finishing off « cuteasabutton82

Leave a Reply

