Buttons

Standard

I had a very productive day yesterday. Almost as soon as I got up I got started and made all sorts of lovely bits and pieces. However, I can’t show you most of them yet. This is because I’m going to be a guest blogger! A few weeks ago Susan got in touch with me and asked if I’d be interested in being a guest on her blog – how exciting! So I said I would. But then came the panic along the lines of “What on earth am I going to say?!” Because one of the rules is that it has to be a unique blog, meaning that I couldn’t just copy and paste something off here. I suppose in theory it’s not much different than writing a post here, but somehow it feels like there’s a lot more pressure writing on someone else’s blog.

But then my lovely friend Helen gave me a great idea without even realising it! So if you want to see what I’ve been up to, check out Susan’s blog on Saturday 🙂 I’ll post a link to it too. Here is just a little peek at one thing I made…

Anyway, as well as my super secret sewing I also got started on the buttons on buttons order. I have to make 100 of these! I spent the morning sorting through all my fabrics and cutting out 100 circles from them, then ironing them all.

What an assortment of colours I have! I dread to think how much money I’ve spent on fabric the last few years. Then comes the longest part of the process – sewing the mini buttons on the fabric, then sewing the fabric on to the blank buttons. I managed 25 yesterday before my fingers started to get sore.

Have a proper look…

These are just a few of my favourites…

Ahh, so pretty!

16 responses »

  1. Oh my gosh. I love your covered buttons. I think some fabric covered buttons would look so cute on my little cardigans that I have been crocheting. Thanks for the inspiration. And I can’t wait to see what you’re going to show us on Saturday; I’ll be waiting. 🙂

  2. they are so cute and beautifully photographed. Coriandr is very interesting, I haven’t heard of it before. Is it as busy for makers to sell s Folksy and Wowthankyou?

    • To be honest I’m not really sure! I’ve not come across wowthankyou (will go and have a look in a minute though!) I’ve not sold loads from Coriandr, but I haven’t really advertised it at all! I imagine it’s probably fairly similar to Folksy – I have a couple of friends who use it and sounds like they probably have as much traffic to their shops as I do. Sorry I can’t offer more insight 🙂

  3. Pingback: It’s Friday and Almost the Weekend « Crochet with Tamara

Leave a Reply

