Buttons, buttons, buttons

Standard

I have finally finished – 100 blank buttons successfully covered in little circles of fabric and topped with a mini button. It’s taken all week and some very sore fingers to get to this point, but I’m really pleased with them! I only hope the buyer loves them as much as I do…

Shall we have a look? I couldn’t get them all in one picture very easily, so decided to take pictures in small batches.

These ones came from a charity shop find. My buyer had said taht she liked vintage fabrics and particularly those with embroidery. This isn’t particularly vintage, but does have some lovely stitching – and it was a bargain at Β£1! This is how the design looked before I cut it up…

More buttons…

Similarly, these buttons were made from napkins with a littleΒ flower in each corner. I wasn’t too sure about them as each flower is really quite small, but the napkins are made from a really lovely cotton fabric which I’m sure I’ll be able to use for other projects. And they were a super bargain at Β£1.25 for 8 πŸ™‚

The rest were made with a range of fabrics that I had in my fabric box, mostly cottons that I’ve used for quilt making.

I don’t know why, perhaps it’s because I’ve been working with buttons so much this week, but as I was drifting off to sleep last night I had another buttony idea – earrings! I’ve had some silver earring posts and backs for a while.

I’m not sure why I got them in the first place, but were ideal for this. After finding some matching buttons I squidged a dab of superglue on to each post and attached them to the buttons (being very careful not to stick my fingers together in the process!) …

…and after a minute or two I had a pair of earrings.Β And then 2 more pairs – pretty!

19 responses »

  1. Oh they are all gorgeous. Any idea what your buyer is going to use them for??? I LOVE the button earring idea, especially the ones with the threads, that really adds to them. I might need some of those πŸ˜‰

      • I was hoping she was going to use them for something beautiful and hand made but no doubt their new owners will. Hmmm you could have permanent button earrings lol!

  2. How lovely it must be in your world, to be able to work with your passion alllll the time πŸ˜‰ And to consistently make beautiful creations is simply the icing on the cake (another love of mine πŸ˜‰ haha)
    Where do you get your teeny tiny buttons please? I’ve used them on some of my things but could do with more πŸ™‚
    Your earrings are simply inspired! Brava! πŸ˜‰

    • I have no idea where my buttons came from – I’ve had them for absolutely ages! But as my stock is now running low I’ve been looking at getting some more and found several very similar packs. I think mine were from the ‘Dress It Up’ range, but if you google ‘tiny buttons’ it will give you loads of options! I can see me getting quite carried away and buying far too many. But they’re so cute! πŸ™‚

      • Hehe, me too! I have soo many, but not the teeny ones. If I see buttons I like I just HAve to buy them. I have a lady on Facebook looking to get teeny ones too, so I will see what price she can give and use Google too πŸ™‚

  3. Super cute! I’m really excited to have found you (found your guest post on crochetaddicts)

    I’m a button freak as well, so I can’t wait to see more buttony creations from you! πŸ™‚
    I love finding other button people, following you now via email πŸ™‚

    Read you soon!

    Dana

  4. Pingback: Fun with glue « cuteasabutton82

  5. Pingback: April showers « cuteasabutton82

  6. Pingback: At long last « cuteasabutton82

  7. Button jewellery (necklaces, bracelets, earrings and rings) are very big here right now. I have a zillion of my own but sometimes I still buy something from a clever person at a craft market – like You! Your fabric covered buttons are really gorgeous.

    • Thanks! I was really pleased with how they turned out. I was at a market a couple of weeks ago and saw some amazing button jewellery – I’m just waiting for some free time so I can give it a go!

Leave a Reply

