Finishing off

Standard

Isn’t it a great feeling when you finish something? Especially when a project’s been on the go for (what feels like) a very long time, or if, like me, you’re better at starting things than finishing.

But today felt like a finishing day, so after breakfast I got out the baby blanket (last pictured here). This was almost 3 weeks ago and I haven’t worked on it since. But today I finally got out the needle and worked in all those pesky little ends.

And this is what I have to show for it – a pile of colourful little woolly worms!

In the end it only took about 2 hours (or about 4 episodes of The Big Bang Theory and half an episode of River Cottage). Not bad at all, and I kinda wish I’d not left it so long! Now it’s only the blocking process and it’ll be all finished – hurrah!

Sorry for the light quality – we’re having a typical on and off rainy, sunny April showers kind of day and it always seems to be cloudiest just when I get the camera out. But you get the idea. And I’ll hopefully take some better pictures when the blocking is finished tomorrow.

I also got on with the pin board. In the end I decided just to get rid of the paper on the back – most of it was really easy to peel off as it hadn’t really stuck properly in the first place. Then I used a knife to cut away the rest neatly round the edge.

The front was fairly straight forward – I cut fabric to the right size (although at this point I realised that the edges are slightly wonky, which made measuring fun!) and used double sided tape to hold it in place.

Then I added criss-cross cotton tape, held in place with drawing pins.

More double sided tape was used to hold the edging in place, as well as pins in each corner.

Finally I added the hook/loop thingys (don’t know the technical name – they just came with the board!) and twisted green wool around them so it can be hung up.

So on the whole a productive morning – what can I finish the afternoon?

Oh, and by the way, this is the glue I’ve used for the button pins and earrings – nothing fancy, just from the cheapie shop in town, but it seems to be effective!

10 responses »

  1. What a beautiful post! Full of colour & most definitely full of inspiration! πŸ™‚ That baby blanket is just delightful, it looks so soft! πŸ™‚ How do you block a large piece like that?
    And I just lOve that noticeboard! What a wonderful idea to cover it like that, and of course the button pins actually look like just buttons. Nice job πŸ™‚
    I like the glue picture because it shows part of your machine, the lovely ‘paper’ drawers (draws, hehe) are in the background and is that some crochet on the desk too? A crafty picture for sure πŸ˜‰
    Nice one! πŸ˜‰

    • It is a bit of a mish mash picture isn’t it?! Obviously a lot of crafting going on (or just a bit of mess)!
      Blocking the blanket – I put a towel down on the floor and spread the blanket on top. Then starting from the middle I pinned the corner of each square, pulling out slightly so it is nice and taut. Then I spritzed it with water and will leave it for at least 24 hours, or longer if I forget where it is! Simple πŸ™‚

    • Hi Laura πŸ˜‰
      Having thought about your lovely pinboard many times since this post, I have finally got one done πŸ˜€ You can view it here if you’re interested πŸ˜‰
      Decorated Pinboard
      I hope you like it and Thank you for the inspiration πŸ˜€
      Mo x

      • I love it, and I bet your friend does too! It’s a great idea for a housewarming present. And thanks for the lovely comments about my blog too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

