A wet and windy day

Standard

Good afternoon! How are you today? We’re having a pretty wet, gloomy day today – it’s been raining non-stop since way before I woke up so everything’s feeling pretty dark and wintery today. So it seemed like a good day to stay in and catch up on all the bits and pieces that need doing. So far it’s been a productive day – I’ve sorted through and decluttered 4 Sunday school boxes, planned my lessons for tomorrow and sorted things for our Bible study group this week. In the end I did go out (well wrapped up against the elements and for as short a time as possible) to get some more wool – I was running low on some of the colours I need for my stripy blanket.

Here it is so far…

Not my usual colour palette, but I’m knida liking it just because it’s different. And it’s much more of a boy blanket than a girl blanket isn’t it?

But before I do that I thought I’d give you a whole lot of info about my baby blanket. I’ve seen other bloggers do this and even though I’m sure a lot of people won’t be interested I quite like the geekiness of stats like this!

So here goes:
Weight: 290 g
Measurements: 27.5 x 34 in (approx. 70.5 x 87 cm)
Time taken: approx. 17 hours (although that doesn’t include planning time or ripping it out and starting again time!)
Yarn: 100% acrylic, mostly Stylecraft Special DK (with one or two odds and ends thrown in for good measure!)
Stylecraft colours: Sherbert, Aspen, Turquoise, Denim, Silver, Grey, Candyfloss, Fondant, Pomegranate, Lipstick, Saffron, Violet, Emperor, Cream
Other yarn colours: Pale yellow, pale blue, pale purple, white
18 colours in total 

Ok, geekiness done! Moving on…

Yesterday as I was looking back at previous posts trying to find the beginning of the baby blanket I realised just how many things I’ve started and not finished! I know I’m a starter more than a finisher, but it was really quite shocking. The snood, the Granny Stripe cushion cover (now completely abandoned!),  the re-working of the not quite right slippers, a pair of gloves (which actually got unravelled and reused as something else), the cushion cover with a jumper back. The unfinished journal cover I discovered is still unfinished. The runner I made for my dressing table still only has a crochet edge down one side, and I didn’t even finish the blanket stitch – the needle’s still in it too. The bag that only needed a strap and some flowers is still in exactly the same state. Do you get the idea?!

So, with all my jobs done and out of the way for today, I’m going to be good and actually finish something! The bag with the missing strap is next to me and waiting patiently for attention. Hopefully I’ll be able to show you the finished article tomorrow. If I don’t, you’ll know I’ve been distracted by something else. Again.

3 responses »

  1. I like how your stripe blanket is turning out and the baby blanket looks good – but then again all your crochet looks good.

  2. I agree, I think the stripey blanket is more for a boy 😉 It’s very handsome 🙂
    And of course the baby blanket is gorgeous 🙂
    I like ‘geeky’ stats, they’re actually helpful 🙂
    x

Leave a Reply

