A family weekend

Standard

This weekend has been full of family. My Grandad’s brother and sister in law live in Florida and only make a visit every few years, so it’s always special when they visit. Usually their visits are marked with a family get together and this time was no exception. We had a great time together, eating great food, playing football with the kids (they were much better than me, but I loved it anyway!) and generally catching up with everyone. A big topic of discussion was how we were all related to each other – Grandad and his brother were part of a group of 7 cousins, some of whom were there yesterday along with various offspring. So working out cousins (and second cousins and third cousins, and cousins once or twice removed) was a little complicated. Thankfully we hadΒ a family tree to help us figure it out. We also had several family photo albums dating back a few generations which were alotof fun to look at!

As I wasn’t driving I managed to get a few rows of my stripy blanket done in the car. I also took it in with me and worked on it while we were chatting. Which prompted two of my aunts to get their work out too! We had a chunky knit jumper and some crochet being worked on. We had a little crochet lesson part way through the afternoon, discussing the ins and outs of starting from a foundation chain and working rows of half trebles – just as I’m doing for my blanket.

The blanket is a great portable project – it doesn’t take up too much space in my bag (at the moment) and doesn’t require a pattern. This weekend it’s been to the family gathering, to my friend’s house while we watched dvds and ate pizza, and to Granny’s house to be worked on after a big roast. The only downside to getting to work on it so often is that I’m running low on some of the colours! Anyway, here it is so far…

I have to say, I wasn’t entirely convinced about the colours when I started, but the more I work on it the more I love it!

After seeing a whole lot of people this weekend I’m now home alone and loving it πŸ™‚ And becuase I have the space to concentrate I’ve got round to finishing the slippers I started the other day. They’re bigger than the ones in the original pattern, and would probably fit a toddler (but I need to try this out, so don’t take my word for it!)

These ones measure approx. 12cm long (the green cotton pair are about 8cm) and are made from Stylecraft Special DK.

I also made a teeny tiny flower to go on the side. Cute, huh?!

My next challenge is to work out how to make them big enough for my feet πŸ™‚

10 responses »

  1. What a lovely weekend you had! How very lucky you are to have so much family to get together with and enjoy πŸ™‚
    Your blanket is going to be beautiful and the wee shoes very sweet. Now unless you particularly want to work out how to make them fit yourself, here is a lovely pair of seam free slippers http://allaboutami.tumblr.com/post/20985768256/slippers1 the pattern seems very straightforward too. πŸ™‚
    Mo x

  2. Those shoes are beautiful!!! Lovely to see everyone on Saturday, i was so tired so didnt get to chat to many sorry xx

  3. Your blanket is looking really good…I love the colours! It’s so lovely to spend time with family we rarely see too… I’m glad you had a good time, Jill x

  4. Pingback: Sunshine on a rainy day « cuteasabutton82

Leave a Reply

