Wonderful wild flowers

Standard

First of all, let me start with an apology. I fully intended to show you yesterday what I’ve been working on all week. I was going to give the presents to their new owners meaning that I could finally reveal all. However…my friends were not at church, so I still have the presents and still can’t show you – sorry!

But I do have several other things to share with you. First of all, some new birthday presents. I’ve been getting presents all week. A lot of people seem to feel bad for gifts arriving late, but I love it because it makes the birthday fun last longer. Yesterday I was given some fabulous Cath Kidston goodies…

Wow, I love these buttons! I showed them to another friend who said “If I had buttons this beautiful I’d just keep them to look at and never end up using them!” I can fully relate to that. I’ll keep these visible and will only use them when I find the completely right and perfect project. They are far too special to use on just any old thing. I also have a new lunch box…

Sooooo much nicer than most of the boring tubs cluttering up my cupboards! And the box was filled with yummy truffles too 🙂

Anyway, on to the bit that actually relates to the title. I’m working in a little village school over the next couple of weeks. It’s a great school with lovely staff and lively children. It’s a little way from where I live, but (on a clear sunny morning) is a lovely drive along narrow, winding country lanes. And I’ve really been appreciating the splashes of colour running through the hedgerows. I actually remembered to take my camera today, so I stopped off in a little layby on my way home and took some piccies.

There are so many beautiful colours, but I think these pink flowers are my favourite.

I also love these delicate blue flowers. I’ve not noticed them before as they don’t stand out amongst the bigger, brighter flowers as I’m driving, but they’re so pretty.

These were hard to photograph – they were surrounded by hundreds of stinging nettles!

And there amongst the greenery were a couple of little ladybirds, chilling out in the sun.

Some bright and sunny yellows.

I also couldn’t resist taking some photos around the village where the school is. It’s the kind of place that I would just love to live – it’s so beautifully picturesque. Realistically I know it’ll never happen (unless I find the millionaire I’ve been looking for all my life!) but a girl can dream…

Some lovely decorative items that you just don’t see in towns…

This is the first thing I see as I drive into the village, and it always reminds me a little of Narnia.

So that’s a little bit of my everyday life (for the next couple of weeks at least). Isn’t it lovely?!

3 responses »

  1. The little tiny blue flowers are forget-me-nots. I think they’re so sweet. Well done on all the Cath Kidston goodies-your friends obviously have good taste!

Leave a Reply

