Another birthday present reveal

Standard

Today has been a pretty lazy one so far. I didn’t quite get the lie in I was hoping for (although 7.15 is a lot later than I get up in the week) but I did get to stay in bed and finish my book – bliss! I’ve been doing a few things that need to be done – washing in the machine, tidying, sorting, washing out on the line, preparing Sunday school, folding and putting away washing. So it was a fairly productive morning, but I didn’t have to rush from one thing to another as I often do, and it didn’t matter too much when I got distracted from what I was doing either.

I had lunch with some of my family at a local farm shop and restaurant which was completely yummy. It’s at the top of a hill, so we had great views of all the rolling fields surrounding us.

And now I’m back home with my feet up and about to start a new book.

But before I get to that I just wanted to show you the other birthday present I made. You may well have seen some ofΒ the elements that went into creating it (but only if you read these posts, here and here) but this is what it looks like all put together…

My friend has recently bought her first home, so thought that her birthday present should be something that reflected that. I’m sure that she was given lots of practical things, and although I did ponder making something that could be used (coasters, table mats, napkins, pot stands) I settled on something purely decorative. I was really pleased with how it turned out, and especially love the little colourful windows and tiny button flowers.

At one point I considered stitching words onto it too (probably along the lines of ‘home sweet home’) but decided against it in the end as 1) I didn’t want to ruin it by adding too much and 2) I ran out of time. If I make something similar (and I’m sure I probably will at some point) I may well add words, but I think this little picture turned out to be pretty lovely just as it is.

 

11 responses »

  1. what a completely delightful present πŸ˜€ I’m sure your friend was just smitten with it, as anyone would be πŸ˜‰
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend, your book, and every chance to relax πŸ™‚

  2. Loving the blanket stitch. Is it to hang on the wall? Initially I thought the ribbon was a handle and it was a bag but then you said “purely decorative”. Your friend must have been so pleased.

  3. Thank you all for your lovely comments! Yes Patch, it is for hanging on the wall (although I like the idea of a bag with a house on it – perhaps a future project?!) Hope you’re all enjoying the weekend πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

