Diamond Jubilee Weekend

Standard

After a really crazy couple of weeks it was great to have a relaxed and chilled out weekend – a great start to the half term week! A friend and I drove from the West Country up to stay with some friends in Essex, one of my old school friends and her husband. It was very exciting as it’s the first time I’ve seen her since she announced her pregnancy! So we had a great time talking all things baby while the boys…well, I don’t know what they were talking about.

Anyway, in between talking about babies (and looking at scan pictures) we packed in all sorts of fun activities. We went for a couple of walks.

One of the walks started right by this church. It seems that this area of Essex is heavily populated with churches – it seemed like we saw one around pretty much every corner we turned. But I think this was my favourite (to look at anyway) as it’s just so picturesque.

And I loved this plaque on the back pew of the church, put up at the coronation in 1953.

My friends are also pretty big board game fans. They have 2 shelves completely packed with them in their living room. So we passed a lot of time playing games, often whilst watching some of the Jubilee coverage on TV. We were pretty pleased to be watching the flotilla from the warmth and comfort from their house rather than standing in the rain watching it live! (Oh, and on the subject of the flotilla, do you remember the masks we made with the kids last week for our own version of a boat parade? Well, the hard work paid off because the ark won 2nd prize!) Anyway, while we were playing I managed to get some sewing done too. I made a start on my latest order for 100 buttons, and managed to make 45 – nearly halfway – yay!

I also made up a couple of tulip type flowers – not sure what I’ll use them for yet, but they’re pretty cute.

Yesterday we had a tour around Colchester, walking around the Roman wall and hearing about some of the history behind it.

There was a medieval fair going on in the park. We didn’t go in (because it cost money!) but wandered around the edge looking at all the people in their costumes. These little girls looked so cute in their medieval dresses, and looked like they were having fun feeding the ducks.

And these little ducklings around the corner were just lovely!

Over the weekend we saw loads of flowers all over the place – and I took loads of pictures of them! Here are just a fewof my favourites.

We had a brief trip to another town (the name of which I can’t remember!) and I was surprised to see a house with the name ‘Prejudice’ on it. It seemed like an odd name for a house. Until I saw the house next door which was ‘Pride’. As I looked around at neighbouring houses I managed to find the rest of Jane Austen’s books recorded as house names. I would just love to live in one of those houses!

We also attended afternoon tea at the local church. When we arrived we were presented with a treasure hunt – we had to hunt around the churchyard for answers to 20 questions. It was a lot of fun 🙂

I also managed to fit in a lot more reading than I’ve done in a while – bliss!

So, that was my weekend. I hope you all had a great weekend too 🙂

5 responses »

    • I’m not sure if there’s a link with the town, or if the builders or architects just liked Jane Austen! I’ll try to find out the name of the town for you so you can have a look 🙂

    • I’m still not sure of the link with Austen, but the houses are called Boxhill Cottages and are on Hedingham Road, Halstead, Essex. You can see them on street view on google maps. Hope you manage to find them! 🙂

  1. Delightful pictures! I like the one of the girls in their medieval dresses and the one little girl with what looks like pink crocs on her feet. Cute.

Leave a Reply

