Sunshine on a rainy day

Standard

Yet another ‘summer’ day filled with gloom. It’s not been too rainy today, but it’s been a very grey day. Can you see the little river running down the garden path? It had only been raining for 5 minutes at this point!

Having an unexpectedly free day was lovely. Originally I was going to be running a stall at a charity event (which was cancelled due to bad weather) so hadn’t made any other plans for the day. I half thought about going shopping, but decided that it was more of a stay at home day instead. So Dad and I have been catching up on all the things that have been recorded this week (mostly Dr. Who) and I’ve had a great time crocheting away.

Now, have I told you that I’m working on (another) blanket? I don’t think I have. I started it with plans to sell it today. Obviously that hasn’t worked out, and a good thing too as it’s not finished yet! I’ve worked on it a fair bit this week (mostly whilst watching films with friends) but have run out of cream wool. Don’t you just hate when that happens?!

I almost didn’t do a repeating pattern in case I ran out of anything, but foolishly decided to do it anyway. So far I’ve already run out of the pale pink, and now the cream has come to an end too – and the turquoise is running pretty low. So I’ve had to put in an order for more (what a shame!) which will arrive next week.

And what to work on in the meantime? How about getting on with one of the other blankets in progress?

Nope, I’ve started a new one instead!

In my defence, I was at my friend’s house when I ran out of the cream wool, and didn’t have any other projects with me. So it was a matter of starting a new project or not crocheting at all – and clearly the second choice just wasn’t an option!

I decided to make a patchwork squares blanket, but with bigger squares than the one I made before.  So each square is made with 3 rounds, and each will be edged in white.

I’ve also (finally) added my lavender bags to Coriandr. This was more complicated than it should have been, as the photos were too big to load! So I took photos on a lower quality setting – and they’re still too big! I’m going to leave it for today and have a go on an even lower setting tomorrow. In the meantime, you can see the listing here (this is just for the 3 inch sachets – the bigger ones) and you can see pictures of them here, here and here.

That seems like more than enough information for one day, so I’m going to get back to my squares. Enjoy your day 🙂

11 responses »

  1. Hi Laura, you should be able to reduce the size of the photos you have already taken on your pc, save as a copy and change the resolution, I had to do it the other day and didn’t find it too difficult, look forward to catching up soon for coffee or something and buying my lavendar bag xxx

  2. Yukky rain :p Lovely blanket and mini squares 😉 Order placed 😀
    Hoe you’re having a happy weekend 😀

    • I don’t know! It’s not nearly as big as yours though (and I’ve used the same sized crochet hook the whole way through too!) But the wibbly wobbliness just adds to the charm 🙂

Leave a Reply

