Baking and gardening

Standard

Despite having nothing in my diary for this week, it’s ended up being a busy one.

At the beginning of the week I booked a last minute holiday – hurrah! The last few years I’ve been to New Wine with a group of people from church. This year I really wanted to go, but by the deadline came around my car was due it’s MOT, which took priority. But because of the Olympics not as many people are going this year, so I was able to book this week in time to go next week! I’m so excited!

In preparation, I’ve been busy baking snacks for the group.

So far I’ve made snickerdoodles (which look really different to the picture in the book, but taste good anyway!)…

…oatmeal lace cookies…

…and chewy ginger cookies.

All the recipes came from my most used cookie book, Fabulous Cookies. Yum!

This morning I took my friend’s kids to the park (so she could pack for New Wine without them in the way!), have done 2 loads of washing of things I want to pack, found all my camping bedding and dusted off my suitcase. I’m now having a bit of a sit down before I face actually packing things!

Now, do you remember that I took a trip to the beach with some friends earlier in the week? On the way we got talking about different ways I could arrange the book corner in my classroom, and one suggestion was to have a reading garden. And while I was in the supermarket yesterday I came across some really cute gardening things for children.

I just love this little guy!

I’m so excited about going back into school to arrange my new book corner, and will get the kids to make all sort of flowers to decorate when school starts again.

Right, now I’m off to decide how much yarn I’ll be able to take away with me…

6 responses »

Leave a Reply

