Crochet necklace

Standard

Ever since I made my vertical garland I had another project in mind. As I put the garland together I couldn’t help thinking that it was a bit like a necklace. Which got me thinking – why not make a crochet necklace?!

DSCN5345

I used some of my new yarn to fill a lovely bowl with crochet balls (another of Lucy’s patterns – fab!) I love how they’re all different colours, but all work so well together. And they look all seaside-y and summery. Yum! Anyway, I’m getting distracted…

DSCN5258

I thought about making a whole necklace with crochet beads, but thought that it would probably be better with a bit of weight to help it hang properly. I ordered some plain, unpainted, unvarnished wooden beads. And they work so well together!

DSCN5346

I crocheted a small loop which (just about!) fits over a wooden bead. I made sure that there were two very long tails to thread through both wooden and crochet beads.

DSCN5360

When it got to the right length (approx. 52cm/20.5in) I crocheted 3 chains to create a small gap between the neckace and the final bead. Even though it’s a very snug fit (I should have made the loop just a little bigger) the loop goes over the last bead to create the clasp.

DSCN5355

I really love how it’s turned out! I don’t really wear big necklaces very often, and had this in mind as a birthday gift for a friend. But now I’ve made it I think I might want one for myself too!

DSCN5363

DSCN5352

12 responses »

Leave a Reply

