Baby boy blanket

Standard

Hello, how are you all? I can’t believe it’s been two weeks since my last post! It was my half term holiday two weeks ago, and I made the decision to just enjoy making things for a week without blogging about them. I fully intended to blog about them this week though, but life has a habbit of getting in the way. Do you find that too?

Anyway, I wanted to tell you about one of the things I did during my week off. A friend of mine had a baby that week. I was expecting a text to come through some point that week as the due date had already come and gone! I wanted to make something for the new baby, but didn’t know if it was going to be a pink baby or a blue baby. In my mind I had a couple of options to go with, but didn’t make the final decision until I had a message at 9.44 pm on the Tuesday evening to say that a healthy little boy had been born.

DSCN5127

By 9.45 pm I’d decided what to make and started making it! I already had a stack of blue circles made (these are for another project – I’ll tell you about it some other time) and decided to make some of them into a blanket. But I wanted to break up the blues and have a bit more variety, so started making up some circles in the lovely multicoloured yarn I bought a few weeks ago. I loved how these turned out – some were solid colours, but others had two or three colours worked into them. And I loved how they looked with the blues too. Some parts of the multicoloured yarn are exactly the same shades as the pale blues, so I felt they tied the colours together nicely.

DSCN5375

After making up 80 circles (40 in 5 shades of blue and 40 in the multicoloured yarn) I edged each in cream and made them square. I joined them as I went along using Lucy’s method here.

DSCN5389

When they were all joined I made a simple granny border (I used Jacqui’s pattern for the first round) from three of the blues, then finished it off with a row of doubles (US singles) in the multicoloured yarn. I finished it at 11.15pm on the Thursday evening – it only took 2 days, 1 hour and 30 mins to finish – hurrah!

DSCN5386

I stretched it out on the floor for a day. Even though it’s acrylic yarn and doesn’t block in the same way that cotton or wool do I think it helped to shape the blanket and just generally improved it a bit – although I’m not really sure if I can describe how!

DSCN5377

And this is how it looked when it was all unpinned…

DSCN5392

All that was left to do was add a label with care instructions and wrap it up ready for delivery.

DSCN5403

I was really pleased with how it turned out (even though it was a little wibbly wobbly around the edges!), and I hope it will get a lot of use over the next few weeks and months!

DSCN5380

14 responses »

    • Thank you! I think this yarn works well because there are long stretches of one colour. I’ve tried it with other yarns that end up looking quite speckled because they’ve got shorter colour changes!

  1. Hello..
    I am new to crochet. Love this blanket!! I am trying to do that particular pattern. It is my favorite square with a center circle pattern I have found online. I am also creating a blanket for my best friend. Please share a video or a pattern.
    Thank you.

    • Hi Melissa, I’d love to be able to share a pattern with you, but I made this blanket so long ago I can’t remember if I followed a pattern or not! I kinda think I might have made it up, but can’t remember what I did. I’ll have a think and see if I can come up with anything more useful!

Leave a Reply

