Spring flower wreath

Standard

About a month ago Jill posted about a lovely flower wreath she made. Isn’t it pretty?

100_6676

It got me thinking about my own wreath. I’ve had one on the door for the last few years and my original intention was to change it every season. However, the last time I changed it was probably November 2011 – oops!

DSCN5424

It didn’t really bother me as it was mostly made of food (dried apples, oranges and chillies and cinnamon sticks) which seemed fitting for a kitchen door!

DSCN5427

DSCN5432

But it really was time for a change, so I got busy making a whole host of crochet flowers. I made some large and medium sized roses

DSCN5440

…some teeny tiny flowers

DSCN5450

and some micro flowers (that’s the little dark yellow one in this picture) .

DSCN5438

My plan was to completely cover the wreath in flowers, but as I started playing around with them I realised that I liked seeing the wreath and ribbon so decided to leave some spaces. As a result I have quite a few flowers left over – any ideas what I can do with them?!

I didn’t really plan where each flower went, just tied one on to start and went from there! As I made each flower I left long tails and used these to tie them in place.

DSCN5453

I made a simple chain loop to hang it from, then covered the knot with a few more flowers.

DSCN5445

And here it is in place, hanging on the kitchen door.

DSCN5458

I just love it – it makes me grin every time it catches my eye!

11 responses »

  1. It’s lovely and you are right about seeing the underlying wreath it looks a beautiful basis for whatever you choose to adorn it with. You could certainly change it with the seasons. Just have to have a box of items.

  2. Pingback: In March… | cuteasabutton82

Leave a Reply

