Cute cardigan

Standard

I set this week aside to do my planning for the term ahead at school. It’s not been going well. I’m so easily distracted by things that are so much more interesting than planning!

A big distraction this week has been birthday presents. There are 2 birthdays coming up in the next couple of weeks. I’ve been working on a present for one of them since Christmas (and since the birthday girl reads my blog you won’t get to see it until the present is unwrapped!) and have been looking for inspiration for the other for the last few days.

So I headed to Ravelry. Always a mistake when I should be doing something else as there is just so much to look at! After quite a lot of browsing I found a really cute little cardigan, just right for a pretty little girly girl who loves to twirl her skirts. This pattern is by Holland Designs and can be found here.

Download Now - CROCHET PATTERN Shortie Sweater - Baby to Adult - Pattern PDF

Having found the pattern I then went searching for yarn. Again, a lot more time was spent on this than should have been, but I found an absolutely gorgeous cotton. It’s King Cole Cottonsoft DK and is just wonderful to work with. It’s beautifully soft and doesn’t split like some yarn does.

And here’s the finished product…

DSCN5745

It looks a little different to the one in the picture. I’m hoping that this is because it’s a different size and is on a hanger instead of a child!

I adapted the pattern slightly and didn’t do a ribbed edge, but finished it with a row of DC in cream. I also used this edging to create a little loop for the button.

DSCN5752

And I added three little micro flowers (found here) because it needed a little more pink!

DSCN5748

So that’s one present ready. Perhaps I’d better get back to planning…

18 responses »

    • This is the first I’ve done successfully! I’ve tried a couple of patterns for slippers, but they always go wrong somehow! This is a great pattern as it can be used from newborn to extra large adult!!

  1. I really REALLY like this, and I see from looking on at the pattern on etsy that it goes up to an XL woman size. Which I guess would be me, especially since I dropped out of my Weigh-Less classes 😦
    I think you’ve done a beautiful job, and I love the additions and the button loop. 🙂

    • Thank you! I loved making it and it was so quick!! (That’s my favourite kind of project as I don’t have time to get bored!) I’m quite tempted to make one for myself – I think I’d need the XL size too probably 🙂 If only vegetables tasted like chocolate…

  2. Pingback: April Made It – Tango Tunic, Cute Cardi, Chick ‘n Bunny, a WOW before/after and a sweet Ladybird or two… | woolhogs

  3. Pingback: Another cute cardigan | cuteasabutton82

Leave a Reply

