Bountiful bunting

Standard

Hello! Before I get started with the amazing(!) post I promised you, I’d like to say WELCOME to all those people who’ve clicked on the ‘follow’ button over the last couple of weeks.

I’m not sure where you’ve all come from, but it’s lovely to have you here! If you are new around here (or even if you’re not so new!) I’d love to know how you found my blog in the first place. Did a friend recommend it? Or did you randomly find me when you were looking for something else? Or did you find me through another blog? However you got here, I’m glad that you made it and that you decided to stick around for a while.

Anyway, on with the post!

Yesterday I promised you something amazing. I think I may have exaggerated a little. I was just excited because it seems like it’s been a long time since I wrote a proper post. A lot of my posts recently (and there haven’t actually been a lot of them at all) have been recycled. I’ve taken pictures I’ve already shown you and written some new text to try to disguise the fact that I haven’t been working on much.

But today I actually have something new to show you! Although, if you follow Lucy of Attic 24 (and if you don’t, you really should), this may not actually be new to you at all. A couple of weeks ago Lucy posted some gorgeous pictures of Granny Bunting. It made me drool slightly. So colourful and cheerful!

IMG_3522

Lucy’s beautiful bunting

So this week I thought I’d have a go at some of my own. I started with a few slightly wonky looking triangles.

DSCN6003

But then I tried the steam magic trick (read Lucy’s post to find out about it!) and hey presto! Completely flat and beautifully pointy triangles!

DSCN6025

It really is like magic! I was so sceptical before I tried it. I thought ‘Hmmm, nice idea, but I bet it won’t work for me and I’ll just have soggy, wonky triangles’. But I’m so glad I tried it because it makes all the difference.

Anyway, after the first five were so successful I thought I’d make a few more – and ended up with 20!

DSCN6083

This picture reminds me of the story ‘The Princess and the Pea’ – they kinda look like blankets or mattresses piled high…or it that just me?

Moving on.

I had a lot of fun out in the sun this morning getting photos of them all.

DSCN6088

These were all made with odds and ends I had left from previous projects. Some colours work better together than others, but all together they look pretty jolly and happy.

DSCN6078

DSCN6055

Forgot about the ends of these – oops!

Others had their colours more carefully chosen and these are some of my favourites…

DSCN6073

…and some more of my favourites!

DSCN6056

One more colourful shot…

DSCN6065

I thought I’d also try some slightly smaller 5 round grannies too.

DSCN6095

I was thinking ‘seaside’ when I chose these colours. I also have a vague thought about adding some cute little sailing boats

DSCN6092

…but I’m not quite sure how yet. I’ll let you know what I come up with.

Hope you all have a lovely weekend!

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

