Another tassel

Standard

I thought that my next post would probably be about the next few rows of my CAL blanket. But even though I’ve been clicking the refresh button on my email every few minutes this morning there is still no notification telling me that the next rows have been posted! So I thought that rather than sit around impatiently I would do something to occupy my mind instead.

My first step was to go out to the garden and take photos of a couple of things I’ve done/made over the last 16 hours.

DSCN6440

The first is another tassel! Almost as soon as I’d posted about my bead tassel I felt the need to make one entirely with buttons. So I got out my colourful threads and button box and got to work.

DSCN6445

I made this in a slightly different way to the beaded tassel. I used a different colour thread for each strand, weaving it through the buttons all the way down and back to the top again. When I had 4 strands I simply knotted them all together (I’d made sure to leave the ends fairly long) then picked the two longest threads to be the loop at the top. I threaded these through a larger button, then stitched them to the knot to secure. It’s not particularly neat, but my eye is drawn to the buttons rather than the knot, so I think it’ll be ok!

Here’s the other one as well (I felt it needed to be photographed in the sunlight!)…

DSCN6442

On Thursday evenings I meet with a small group of people from church. We spend time praying together and looking at what the Bible says and how we can apply it to our lives. This week we were discussing the importance of the Bible itself. Reading the Bible is something that a lot of Christians (myself included!) find hard at times, so one of the things we discussed was how to get the most from the times we read it. I often find (just in life in general) that if I write something down I remember it better. So I decided that I should use my journal more often to jot down things that jump out at me as I read the Bible.

DSCN6436

This morning I read Isaiah 40. It’s filled with amazing imagery, so I thought I’d get my colours out and write it in a jumbled up kinda way.

DSCN6433

I’m not a great artist (as much as I’d like to be!) but I had a go at adding small pictures to the text anyway. I like the way it all looks on the page and it was a great way of getting me to focus for a much longer time than usual! It’s definitely something I’ll be doing again.

DSCN6437

Anyway, I must just go and check my emails again…

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: A sunny Saturday afternoon | cuteasabutton82

Leave a Reply

