A new pattern revealed and help needed!

Standard

My lovely friend’s birthday is in the week between Christmas and New Year. I always feel sorry for people who have a birthday near Christmas as they seem to end up with less presents! So I always try to make sure I give her separate presents for Christmas and her birthday.

This year I was inspired to make her a shawl. I used the Ying Hua pattern that I found on Ravelry.

I used Senses Lace by Stylecraft in two Lavender (the main colour) and Black Elder (the border). I’ve not used this yarn before, but quite liked it. The only slightly tricky bit was the fact that it’s so fluffy! The fluffy fibres knot together, making it tricky to undo when you make a mistake.

DSCN8096

The pattern was easy to follow and I made it in less than a month, working on it during my lunchbreaks and holiday. It was quite crumpled by the time I finished it, but blocking worked wonders! Here it is before…

DSCN8038

…during…

DSCN8058

…and after.

DSCN8085

The blocking especially helped on the part where the little triangles were. I was worried that it would still look ‘dented’ even after blocking, but steaming it with the iron really helped.

DSCN8040

DSCN8048

DSCN8076

DSCN8092

DSCN8099

I’ve not seen my friend since she opened the present, but she told me she liked it!

DSCN8090

And now I need some help please! I told you the other day that I’ve started a new blog. It’s all up and running, but I’m having some issues with photos. I think at some point I must have formatted the photos for this blog, so that they’re always central and at the biggest size (without being too big and distorted!). Try as I might, I can’t find how to change the settings, so the photos are always aligned to the left and only at a medium size. There doesn’t even seem to be an option to make the photos larger. Can anyone help? I’ll be eternally grateful! πŸ˜€

8 responses »

  1. Beautiful scarf. Really impressed! As to photos: when I am making a post and I choose ‘Add media’ it takes me to the library and when I click on the picture in question I get a choice of ‘Attachment Display Settings’ on the bottom right. I just choose Centre or whatever and the size and that’s what I get. Is your dashboard different?

    • I’d found how to change individual photos but couldn’t figure out how to do it without changing them all individually – which I’m just not patient enough to do! Thank you for your help πŸ™‚ Blogland is a wonderful place for getting answers!

Leave a Reply

