Spring decor

Standard

I had lots of fun decorating my house for Christmas. As well as all the usual decorations I also added red cushions and a super thick red rug to the lounge which made the room feel even more cosy and Christmassy.

DSCN2474

But with Christmas over and the decorations packed up and back in their boxes for another year, I decided it was time to get rid of the red.

DSCN2470 DSCN2471

Red is a great colour, and I particularly love it at Christmas time, but it’s not how I want my front room to look all year round.

DSCN2475

Pastels are my most favourite colours, and they just shout ‘Spring’! Now, it’s not really spring yet. Although we’ve had some wonderfully sunny days it’s still very cold. But it feels like winter needs to be given a bit of a push to make way for spring, so out come the pastels!

DSCN2591

It didn’t take much effort – I simply swapped cushion covers, putting away the red ones until next winter. Some of the cushion covers didn’t need to be changed because they work with both colour schemes.

DSCN2589

I like having blankets around no matter what time of year, so I just put away the red ones and brought out the pretty pastels again.

DSCN2588

When I first moved in I had the pink rug on the floor, which I’d put away for Christmas. But it’s back from under the wardrobe, looking slightly grubby (I think I’ll need to wash it, but only when the weather’s a bit warmer so I can dry it outside!) but very spring-ish.

DSCN2595

The look is completed (for now – I’m sure I’ll be adding more Easter related decorations soon!) with my colourful bunting and some flower fairy lights…

DSCN2598

…some pastel candles…DSCN2488

…and of course some beautiful flowers in colourful vases.

DSCN2567

DSCN2565

Lovely!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

