A sunny Saturday afternoon

Standard

After checking my email another hundred times or so, and twiddling my thumbs for a while I decided that I’d get on with a half finished project that’s been waiting for attention for a few weeks.

I had felt ‘in between’ projects, but my fingers were itching to make something, so I did what I often do at those times and turn to Lucy’s blog. She has so many beautiful patterns that I want to try out, so I was sure I could find something to keep me occupied for a while. I chose to make her Happy Flower Decoration, and had the main flower part and stem with leaves already finished.

I dug them out from under a pile of paper (I have no idea how my desk gets so cluttered!) and stitched them together. I also took a few minutes to whip up a tiny heart to go on the bottom, then took them out into the garden.

DSCN6447

Lucy recommends ‘painting’ the back with PVA glue so it will hold it’s shape. I figured that since it was such a sunny day the glue would dry better outside than in.

DSCN6451

I pinned the flower and heart to an old blanket with a pillowcase over the top. This is what I use to iron on when I can’t be bothered to get the ironing board out! It’s also very useful for blocking small projects.

DSCN6456

While I was waiting for it to dry, I thought I’d take my friend up on her offer of a walk and a coffee. We strolled through a couple of fields (carefully avoiding the nettles) and made our way to a garden centre at Cuttifords Door which has just opened a coffee shop. We had a (very) brief look at the plants – neither of us are particularly in to gardening – before making a beeline for the café. I did stop for a few seconds on the way to take some photos of some pretty flowers…

DSCN6458

DSCN6459

DSCN6460

DSCN6462

DSCN6464

…but my main aim was coffee!

DSCN6467

It was beautiful sitting out in the sun with a warm breeze blowing through the trees. Bliss!

On our way home we dropped in to see a friend who’s just moved house and chatted for a while before making our way home. It was a great way to spend a sunny Saturday afternoon.

The glue was dry on my flower by the time I got home, but you’ll have to wait to see the finished article!

Leave a comment